Champion Cole VanOverbeke flashed a smile to assistant Coach Kris Fier.

Minneota gets three champs at Litchfield

Minneota got six wrestlers into the finals at Litchfield on Saturday and brought home three championships.

Minneota placed third as a team behind Hutchinson and Totino Grace.

Litchfield Invitational
1. Hutchinson 192; 2. Totino Grace 177.5; 3. Minneota 170; 4. Litchfield 170.5; 5. Monticello 87; 6. Milaca-Faith Christian 80.5; 7. Alexandria Area 74; 8. Eden Valley-Watkins 67.
Minneota wrestlers:
106-Troy VanKuelen, Sixth, 0-3.
Andrew Joedeman (Litchfield) maj. dec. 10-2; bye; Rameses Peterson (Totino-Grace) maj. dec., 10-1; Fifth Place-Treyton Card (Hutchinson) dec. 6-0.


The champions were:

113-Eric Carassco

145-Blake Reiss

160-Cole VanOverbeke

Placing second were:

132-Kade Lozinski

138-Teddy Pesch

182-Shawn Buysse

In  the finals, Carassco and Grant Pierce of Hutchinson tangled in a match Carassco pulled out in overtime, 6-4.

At 145, junior Blake Reiss went against William Jaeger of Totino-Grace and pinned him to bring home a Litcfhfield Tournament championship.

Right out of the chute ,Cole VanOverbeke was taken down by Adam Sylverster of Totino Grace. But he came back with an escape, then pinned Sylvester in 42 seconds to capture Minneota's third title of the day.

Teddy Pesch dropped a heartbreaker, 6-5 to Jerry Simes of Litchfield in the finals at 138. And at 180, Shawn Buysse scrapped and clawed with a tough Christian Kurth of Hutchinson. Down 4-1, Buysse clawed his way back in the third period to within 4-3. He nearly knocked Kurth out with a diving blow that stunned the Hutchinson wrestler. But with eight seconds to go, Kurth hung on for the win.

Minneota got two thrids from Jonah Gruenes at 132 and Layne Lozinski at 195. Gruenes, who was entered unattached beause he was in the same weight as Pesch, clawed his way back after an opening win, then loss, to take third. Lozinski lost in the semifinals and came back for third.

Another wrestler doing it the hard way was Justin Johnson. He pulled off a pin at the last secods over Bear Bouman of Totino Grace as an un-attached wrestling at 182, where Buysse was seated.

Johnson lost in the semifinals to Kurth, who would beat Buysse for the championshp. But Johnson worked his way back to the third place match, where he lost and took fourth. Josh Laleman also took fourth at 170 pounds.

Here's how the Minneota wrestlers finished.

106-Troy VanKuelen, Sixth, 0-3.
Andrew Joedeman (Litchfield) maj. dec. 10-2; bye; Rameses Peterson (Totino-Grace) maj. dec., 10-1; Fifth Place-Treyton Card (Hutchinson) dec. 6-0.

113-Eric Carrasco, First, 3-0.
Pinned Gibson Kragt (Milaca-Faith Christian), 3:27; Semifinals dec. Devin Steinhaus (Litchfield), 9-7. Championship: dec. Grant Peirce (Hutchinson), 6-4 (ot).

120-Zack Fier, Fifth, 2-2.
Pinned Conner Lincoln (Eden Valley-Watkins), 2:52; tech fall by Joey Thompson (Totino-Grace); Fifth Place-Pinned Conner Lincoln (Eden Valley-Watkins), 2:27.

126-Truman Wambeke, Sixth 0-4.
Pinned by Dane Morel (Totino-Grace), 2:22; tech fall by Aryan Payne (Litchfield, 16-1; Pinned by Gavin Mathiew (Eden Valley Watkins), 1:17; Fifth Place-Pinned by Dane Morel (Totino-Grace), 1:31.

132-Kade Lozinski, Second, 1-1.
Bye; Pinned Taylor Ludwig (Eden Valley-Watkins), 1:05; Campionship-Pinned by Kake Svihel (Totino Grace), 2:40.

138-Jonah Gruenes, third, 3-1.
Maj. decisioned Bruce Erkenbrack (Totino Grace), 11-0; Maj. decisoned by Jerry Simes (Litchfield), 15-4; Pinned William Dailyuk (Milaca-Faith Cristian), 2:56; Third Place: Dec. Camden Kron (Hutchinson), 6-3.

138-Teddy Pesch, Second, 2-1.
Pinned Sam Nistler (Eden Valley-Watkins), 1:10; decisioned Tate Runge (Alexandria Area, 5-0; Championship-Decisioned by Jerry Simes (Litchfiel), 6-5.

145-Blake Reiss, First,3-0.
Pinned JP Rodel (Alex Area), :42; decisioned Trevyn Ludwig (Eden Valley-Watkins, 7-2; Championship-Pinned William Jaeger (Totino-Grace), :41.

152-Tate Walerius, Sixth, 0-3.
Pinned by Zach Nistler (Eden Valley-Watkins), 3:03; bye; tech falled by Anthony Arens (Totino-Grace), Fifth place: Maj. decision by Jesse Reiner (Hutchinson).

160-Cole VanOverbeke, First, 2-0.
Bye; Pinned Bryce Penk (Litchfield), 1:09; Championship-Pinned Adam Sylvester (Totino Grace), 1:42

170-Josh Laleman, Fourth, 2-2.
Pinned Cater Mathies (Eden-Valley-Watkins), :57; pinned by Logan Nelson (Litchfield), 3:01; dec. Jayshan Hinz, Montivello, 5-3; Third-Decisioned by Ian Hanson (Milaca-Faith Christian), 5-2.

182-Shawn Buysse, Second, 1-1.
Bye; decisioned Alex Nelson (Hutchinson), 5-2; Championship-Decisioned by Christian Kurth (Hutchinson), 4-3.

182-Justin Johnson, Fourth, 2-2.
Pinned Bear Bouwman (Totino-Grace), 4:31; pinned by Christian Kurth (Hutchinson), :42; decisioned Ben Hanson (Milaca-Faith Christian), 5-1; Third-pinned by Alex Nelson, (Hutchinson), 3:23.

195-Layne Lozinski, Third, 1-1.
Bye, pinned by Jacob Raning (Totino Grace), 4:27; bye; Third; pinned Tanner Gill (Hutchinson), 1:00.

220-Trey Gronke, Fifth, 1-2.
Pinned by Jesse Midas (Monticello); 1:50; bye; Decisioned by Bodee Zens (Milaca-Faith Christian), 6-0; Fifth; Pinned Dylan Isakson, (Litchfield), 1:26.

106 - Troy VanKeulen - 6th place
113 - Eric Carrasco - Champion
120 - Zack Fier - 5th place
126 - Truman Wambeke - 6th place
132 - Kade Lozinski - 2nd place
138 - Teddy Pesch - 2nd place
138 - Jonah Gruenes - 3rd place
145 - Blake Reiss - Champion
152 - Tate Walerius - 6th place
160 - Cole VanOverbeke - Champion
170 - Josh Laleman - 4th place
182 - Shawn Buysse - 2nd place
182 - Justin Johnson - 4th place
195 - Layne Lozinski - 3rd place
220 - Trey Gronke - 5th place

Contact Us

The Minneota Mascot
Address: 201 N. Jefferson
Minneota, MN 56264

Phone:(507) 872-6492